tuesdays with dorie

For those who asked, Tuesdays with Dorie is just a group of bloggers that chooses recipes from her baking cookbook, Baking: From My Home to Yours. They bake a different recipe each week.

This week’s recipe was fresh mango bread. I omitted the raisins from the recipe as I don’t care for raisins in my bread. It also took two mangoes to yield the necessary amount of mango in the recipe. It was yummy! The mango is a little odd in baked goods as it appears a little “hairy”. I’m not sure I’d give this bread away without the explanation that mangoes just do that.

If I make it again (I might!), I’d actually play around with adding some fresh ginger and more lime zest and/or add lime juice. I couldn’t really taste the lime flavor in my loaf.

I’d also think about doing the bread with peaches (though I’d omit the lime).

For the complete recipe, visit Kelly from Baking with the Boys.

~ by Larisa on May 19, 2009.

Leave a comment